

# Original Board of Trustees Marshall Civic Foundation - 1980

Morris Stulberg,\* *Pres*. Frank Boley
Jerry D. Clifton
John J. Collins\*
Kurt F. Letzring
Jack R. Moore\*
John H. Oades
Doran R. Osborn
Betty Sherman\*

### **Current Board Members**

Wendee Woods, President Frank Boley, Treasurer Sandra Dobbins, Secretary Deanna Adler Jennifer Caplis Marguerite Davenport Dr. Randy Davis Tom Franke

Dr. Jay Larson

March 1983

March 1983

Heather Luciani Jim Pardoe Jack Reed Tom Tarkiewicz

Richard Gerten, *Emeritus* Dr. Lynne Haley, *Emeritus* Mark Stuart, *Emeritus* 

## **Current and Past Board Members**

Deanna Adler	October 2020 -		Fred Homann	April 2000 -	December 2002
Gladys Bailey*	April 1989 -	April 1995	Mike Kinter*, Emer 2017	April 1995 -	February 2020
Frank Boley	March 1980 -	_	Dr. Jay Larson	April 2005 -	•
Judy Borowitz	April 2005 -	February 2006	Heather Luciani	February 2020 -	
Jdg. John Brundage	July 1995 -	July 2001	Dr. Martin Mitchell	November 1993 -	December 1994
Mary Jo Byrne	April 2006 -	August 2019	Darlene Neidlinger	April 2004 -	November 2017
Jennifer Caplis	April 2012 -	_	Jim Pardoe	March 1994 -	
John Collins *	March 1980 -	December 2004	Dr. Joyce Phillips	March 2004 -	September 2009
Charles Cook	March 1983 -	November 2017	Jack Reed	October 2020 -	•
Robert Currie	August 2001 -	September 2003	Dr. Gilbert Sherman*	March 1980 -	January 1987
Dr. Randy Davis	September 2009 -	_	Rev. James Sherman*	March 1985 -	March 1986
Marguerite Davenport	October 2020 -		Bruce Smith	April 2007 -	March 2011
Sandra Dobbins	December 2000 -		Ron Smith	April 2006 -	August 2019
Jim Dyer	April 2011 -	April 2012	Mark Stuart, Emer 2020	March 1983 -	May 2020
Dave Foster*	March 1980 -	March 1983	Morris Stulberg* Pres Emer 2011	March 1980 -	June 2012
Tom Franke	November 1993 -		Deb Sullivan*	October 1986 -	March 2006
Pas. Richard Gerten, Emer 2019	April 1991 -	December 2019	Tom Tarkiewicz	April 2012 -	
Louis Giannunzio	March 1983 -	June 2001	Kathy Tarr*	April 2004 -	February 2013
Matthew Glaser	April 2005 -	April 2006	Rev. Chris Thomas	October 1986 -	February 1991
Dr. Lynne Haley, Emer 2020	April 2000 -	August 2020	Nick Timmer	March 1980 -	March 1983
Jackie Hathaway	April 2011 -	November 2011	Phil Weber*	March 1980 -	January 1987
Chet Hemmingsen*	April 2000 -	July 2001	Wendee Woods	April 2011 -	

#### \*deceased

#### **Other Dates in MCF History**

Frank Hill

James Hofer

- In 1968, your community foundation established as the Marshall Civic Foundation
- ♦ In 1986, the Foundation received its first major gift/bequest of \$112,000 from the Ethel Markham Estate

March 1980 -

March 1980 -

 In 1991, the Foundation's name is changed to the Marshall Community Foundation and James Cooke is hired as the first Executive Director

Eaton Corporation awards a \$25,000 grant

Established an office courtesy of Michigan National Bank

 In 1992, W. K. Kellogg Foundation awards a \$50,000 grant and the "Fund for Marshall" campaign is launched

The Youth Advisory Council (YAC) is created, and Julie Ousley is named the first YAC Advisor

• In 1993, Judge John Brundage appointed as the "Marshall Tomorrow" campaign chair

Sandra Dobbins is hired as the second Executive Director Foundation receives an anonymous gift of \$1 million

- ♦ In 1995, Sandra Dobbins is named the second YAC Advisor
- ♦ In 1996, The "Fund for Marshall" Campaign attained its goal of \$2 million

- ♦ In 2000, Sherry Anderson is hired as third Executive Director
- ♦ In 2002, Morris Stulberg steps down as Board Chair after 32 years

Trustee Charles Cook appointed as Board Chair

- ♦ In 2010, Foundation celebrates 40th Anniversary
- In 2011, Foundation Boardroom Dedication honoring founder, Morris Stulberg
- In 2012, Foundation relocated to new offices on Homer Rd.
- In 2015, Shannon Tiernan is hired as fourth Executive Director
- ♦ In 2017, Charles Cook steps down as the Board Chair after 15 years, and Mark Stuart is appointed as Board Chair
- ♦ In 2018, Jennifer Caplis is appointed Board Chair
- ♦ In 2020, Wendee Woods is appointed Board Chair

W.K. Kellogg Foundation grans a \$1 million match